

Katrina Hodgkinson MP **Minister for Primary Industries Minister for Small Business**

MEDIA RELEASE

Thursday 13 September, 2012

NEW RAA BOARD GIVES CONFIDENCE TO FARMERS, SMALL BUSINESSES

Primary producers and small businesses across the State will benefit from the industry expertise held by the new Board of the NSW Rural Assistance Authority according to Minister for Primary Industries, Katrina Hodgkinson.

The new Board, which is meeting for the first time in Orange today, directs the NSW Rural Assistance Authority (RAA), the body responsible for providing a range of financial assistance measures to primary producers and small businesses.

"I am confident that the new Board will be particularly effective, given the breadth of the skills and experience of the appointees," Ms Hodgkinson said.

"All Board members are from a regional location and each demonstrates a knowledge and passion for the major issues relating to agricultural industries and regional communities."

RAA Board members appointed to November 2014:

- David Palmer, Mittagong (Chair)
- Markeeta Gibson, Hay
- Robert Brown, Deniliquin
- Barbara Clark. Moree
- Andrew Locke, Walcha
- Wendy Tuckerman, Boorowa

Information on each Board member is available at www.raa.nsw.gov.au/about/boardmembers

"I wish to acknowledge and thank the previous Board members, and in particular the long standing Chair Fran Rowe, for their service and contribution," Ms Hodgkinson said.

"Fran was a member of the Authority Board for almost 25 years and did not seek reappointment.

"She has provided a lifetime of service and commitment to rural industries, Government bodies and to her local community, which culminated in her recent achievement in being named as the 2012 NSW Woman of the Year."