

Troy Grant MP

Member for Dubbo

Parliamentary Secretary for Natural Resources

MEDIA RELEASE

Thursday 26 July 2012

NEW LAKE ILLAWARRA AUTHORITY APPOINTED

Parliamentary Secretary for Natural Resources Troy Grant today said the newly appointed Lake Illawarra Authority (LIA) will carry on the great work being done at the lake.

"The NSW Government has taken time to consider the appointment of new members in the context of the Authority's considerable achievements in improving the environmental and recreational values of the lake," Mr Grant said.

"It was decided to appoint Authority members for one year to assist in a review of the LIA and its future operations.

"The LIA board members represent members of the community, NSW Government agencies and local government.

"Chair Doug Prosser carries on from his previous years in the role and the Members represent a broad range of skills and experience.

"The NSW Government recognises that the LIA has achieved significant environmental and recreational improvements to the lake over its 24 years of operation.

"With most of the required remediation work now completed, the time is right for a review to assess whether the LIA has achieved its original purpose and to determine the best model for management going forward.

"Consultation with stakeholders and the public will be a part of this process."

Mr Grant will lead the review and said a report of recommendations will be presented to Deputy Premier Andrew Stoner within the term of the Authority.

"The Authority has been extremely effective in achieving tangible improvements to the health of the lake." Mr Grant said.

"Since the Authority constructed the new entrance to the lake there have been wonderful improvements in water quality.

"The lake is once again playing an important part in the local tourism economy and this will be further enhanced in an ongoing program of activity over coming months.

"The NSW Government is grateful to past and present members of the Authority for their commitment to Lake Illawarra."

The members of the Lake Illawarra Authority are:

- Douglas Prosser OAM, Chair retired businessman, conservationist and Chair of the LIA for 22 years
- Shane Cook Minister with the Shellharbour Community Church
- Diane Johnston Manager of Tourism Shellharbour
- Jennifer Butler businesswoman and Oak Flats resident
- Ron Hales former environmental manager with Wollongong City Council and member of the LIA for seven years.
- Bede Crasnich Councillor, Wollongong City Council
- Helen Stewart Councillor, Shellharbour City Council
- Craig Abbs Director Infrastructure and Land Management, Crown Lands Division, Department of Primary Industries
- Trevor Daly senior conservation manager, Fisheries Division, Department of Primary Industries, and member of the LIA since 2006
- Pam Green Chair of the Southern Rivers Catchment Management Authority.