

Katrina Hodgkinson MP Minister for Primary Industries Minister for Small Business

MEDIA RELEASE

Tuesday 31 July 2012

NEW CHAIRMEN FOR RURAL CATCHMENT MANAGEMENT AUTHORITIES

A former NSW Deputy Premier is one of three new chairmen of Catchment Management Authorities (CMAs) in rural NSW, Minister for Primary Industries Katrina Hodgkinson announced today.

Ms Hodgkinson said the men will head the Border-Rivers Gwydir, Lachlan and Namoi CMAs.

The new chairmen are:

- The Hon. Ian Armstrong AM OBE Lachlan CMA;
- Cr Hans Hietbrink Border-Rivers Gwydir CMA; and
- Cr Conrad Bolton Namoi CMA.

"Mr Armstrong, who represented the region as the Member for Lachlan in the NSW Parliament – and was Deputy Premier - has a broad experience and expertise with land management," Ms Hodgkinson said.

"Cr Hietbrink is the Mayor of Guyra and brings outstanding skills in governance, planning and leadership.

"Cr Bolton has been a Councillor with Narrabri Shire Council for the past eight years and has a strong background in farming, management and community engagement.

"The three chairs will start their new roles in August for a term of two years.

"CMA chairs provide leadership and strategic direction, ensure CMAs are accountable, well-managed and meet the needs of the community to achieve sound natural resource management outcomes.

"This is an important time with the upgrades of Catchment Action Plans underway and when balance is needed between experience and fresh approaches to manage our catchments," Ms Hodgkinson said.

Parliamentary Secretary for Natural Resources, Troy Grant, said CMAs effectively deliver natural resources programs to landholders and communities, and it is great to see these new chairs with a depth of understanding and a passion for their local areas.

Ms Hodgkinson said recruitment for the remaining Murrumbidgee CMA chair position is underway and will be advertised shortly.