DPI gears up for 2013 crop variety trials

29 Jan 2013

Please note - This news release has now been archived and may contain outdated information.

The Department of Primary Industries (DPI) will sow almost 200 crop variety trials across NSW in 2013 as part of the GRDC National Variety Trial (NVT) system.

"Work is underway planning this year’s program which will see DPI sow about 90 per cent of trials in co-operation with farmers on their properties," DPI technical specialist cereals, Peter Matthews, said today.

"More than 10 different crop types will be trialled this year including durum wheat, barley, canola, faba beans, lupins and field peas.

"The trials are used to analyse performance in the areas of yield, grain quality, disease and crop management in different environments across NSW.

"Ultimately the best varieties make it through to release after an exhaustive and very thorough process.

"Nationally, more than 630 trials are sown at over 250 locations each year as part of the NVT system."

Mr Matthews said DPI would plant trials at four of its research centres:

  • Wagga Wagga Agricultural Institute;
  • Cowra Agricultural Research and Advisory Station;
  • Trangie Agricultural Research Centre; and
  • Condobolin Agricultural Research and Advisory Station.

The vast majority of trials will be planted on-farm across the State at locations including 4 Research stations, they are Wagga, Cowra, Trangie and Condobolin Lockhart, Walgett, Moree, Narrabri, Parkes, Merriwagga, Henty, Albury, Cootamundra, Ardlethan, Coonamble, Liverpool Plains, Cudal and Cumnock.

"The NVT trials evaluate the localised performance different varieties and are where candidate varieties can be inspected by growers and agribusiness at DPI/GRDC field days," Mr Matthews said.

Media contact: DPI Media and Communications 02 6391 3686