

Media Release

2 July 2012

Commencing water allocations for Greater Metropolitan water users announced

NSW Water Commissioner, David Harriss, today announced commencing allocations for Greater Metropolitan region water users for the new 2012/2013 water year.

This allocation is effective from 1 July 2012.

Water access licence holders covered by the Greater Metropolitan region unregulated river water sources water sharing plan will receive 100 percent of entitlement.

Water sources covered by this plan include the Shoalhaven, Illawarra, Upper and Lower Nepean, Hawkesbury, Southern and Northern Sydney rivers, as well as upstream of Warragamba Dam.

Water access licence holders operating under the Greater Metropolitan region groundwater sources water sharing plan will receive 100 per cent of their share component or 1 megalitre per unit share.

Groundwater sources covered by this plan include the Botany Sands, Maroota Tertiary, Metropolitan Coastal Sands, Sydney Basin North, Sydney Basin Richmond, Sydney Basin Central, Sydney Basin Blue Mountains, Sydney Basin Nepean, Sydney Basin South, Sydney Basin Cox's River, Hawkesbury Alluvium, Goulburn Fractured Rock and Cox's River.

Licence holders who access water from sources not covered by a water sharing plan are allocated full entitlement unless otherwise advised.

Additional information on Available Water Determinations can be found on the NSW Office of Water website at - www.water.nsw.gov.au

ENDS

Media contact: Brian Dodd Phone 0427 661 418